Twilight 5K Race Recap

Last Tuesday evening, 348 runners converged on Cass Park for the Twilight 5K, a fast, flat race on the scenic shores of Cayuga Lake. Check out the fabulous race photos from Steve Gallow and the full results from Leone Timing.

There were a few items left behind, including a single AirPod, a blue travel mug, and a Cornell hoodie. If any of these belong to you, contact Kris Haines-Sharp.


In the men’s race, former Ithaca High School standout Alexander Simpson took the overall win in 16:14. Not far behind was Tim Phelps of Ithaca, who finished second in 16:30, and, hot on his heels, 17-year-old Nathan Triner of Hector, who crossed in 16:34. Roger Moseley of Newfield won the masters (40–49) division with a 17:21, and Kevin Justian of Moravia took home the veterans (50+) prize in 20:48.

On the women’s side, Sarah Woodyear of Ithaca ran a speedy 18:47 for the win, outpacing Anne Dygert of Brooktondale, who came through in 19:04. Third place went to 15-year-old Kate Hulsey of Ionia—a key member of FLRC’s winning U19 team in the PGXC cross-country series—who crossed the line in an impressive 20:38. The top masters (40–49) runner was Ithacan Alex Kleinerman, who finished in a time of 21:41, and our veteran (50+) winner was Teresa Vanek of Trumansburg, who came through in 23:47.

All age group winners received $10 gift cards donated by Purity Ice Cream.

It was a festive evening in the park. Many families joined in the fun, and participants in the Girls on the Run empowerment program were well-represented on the start line. The race also counted as a timed 5K for the ongoing Finger Lakes Runners Club Challenge. After the race, runners celebrated with a pizza party.

Thank you to the volunteers!

Special thanks to all the volunteers who made the Twilight 5K a success! As Volunteer Coordinator, Liz Hartman ensured a smooth race day setup. Paula Kilts helped mark the course. Adam Engst, Tonya Engst, Rebecca Lambert, and Amanda Robertson arrived early to help set up. Tonya Engst led the check-in crew of Mary Catt, Rebecca Lambert, and Caitlin Loehr, who made quick work of checking in nearly 350 runners. Thanks to Lauren Milano for the delicious and abundant post-race refreshments, provided with assistance from Gretchen Gilbert, Melissa Blake, and Jamie Loehr. The water stations were staffed by Scott and Amy Dawson, Melanie Smee, and Melissa Wallace. As head course marshal, Amelia Kaufman ably oversaw a large crew, including Joey Bromfield, Matthew Clark, Marie Donnelly, Makoto Endo, Karl Granroth, Paula Klaben, Tristan Lambert, Aaron Proujansky, Emily Rodekohr, Anne Shakespeare, Bob Swizdor, and Tamara Walsky. Gary McCheyne managed the van full of equipment, Bob Talda announced finishers, and Caitlin Loehr and Bob Walters handed out prizes. Finally, Adam Engst, Jamie Loehr, Makoto Endo, and Joe Nolan (among others!) stuck around after the party to help clean up.

Congratulations to all finishers, and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Kris Haines-Sharp (Race Director) and Gill Haines-Sharp (Assistant Race Director)