Pinched Nerve Recommendations

Hi everyone,
I’m relatively new to Ithaca/FLRC and this is my first post on the forum! I’ve lived in Ithaca for almost two years, but I just joined FLRC a few weeks ago. Since joining, I accrued what I believe to be an “overuse injury” in my left leg and have been more or less off my feet for the past couple weeks. Informed by my own research, I’m inclined to believe it’s a nerve issue sourced in my lower back. The resulting burning/discomfort/pain runs throughout my left leg all the way to the top of my foot where I’ve experienced some numbness as well.

I have a former connection with a PT at Upstate Bone and Joint in Syracuse, NY and I went there last week during their walk-in hours for a brief exam. The exam went smoothly so the doctor didn’t see a need for an MRI and merely suggested that I take more time to rest. I’m looking for a second opinion or any suggestions from folks who may have experienced setbacks due to aggravated/pinched nerves before. Additionally, I wonder if there are “safe” activities or exercises I can still do without fear of prolonging the issue.

I’ve jotted down a few names and medical practices that have been suggested in previous injury topics here, and I’ll be sure to check them out first! In the meantime, if anyone has any thoughts or advice (beyond resting :blush:), I’m all ears. Thank you in advance!
- Anna C

Welcome to FLRC, Anna, and sorry that you’re dealing with this pain.

It sounds like you’ve evaluated the problem pretty well, so the main thing I’d recommend is looking through the healthcare providers who have been suggested for our Newcomer’s Guide to Running in Ithaca. Any of the doctors, PTs, or chiropractors would likely have useful advice about your problem, which does sound an awful lot like a nerve issue.