FLRC Challenge Group Run Schedule and Other Group Run Opportunities

In 2023, the Finger Lakes Runners Club set a goal of holding a group run or race every weekend, and with one exception due to bad air, we met that goal. Every weekend, runners of all kinds joined together to celebrate being active and making friendships. Check out the stats!

  • 9 FLRC Challenge group runs with 212 participations
  • 8 Sunday Skunkday runs with 169 participations
  • 14 general group runs with 188 participations
  • 6 race course preview group runs with 85 participations
  • (Plus 41 Tuesday night workouts with 1547 participations)

Group runs are a big part of the community aspect of the club—you don’t even have to be a member to participate (but of course we hope you’ll join)! In the spirit of FLRC’s mission statement of being “dedicated to the love of running, as a sport and as a way of life—for fun, for fitness, for camaraderie, and for every person,” we’re going to continue fostering camaraderie and fun by hosting some sort of FLRC event every weekend in 2024. So far, we’re on track.

The various activities to get together and share some miles may include:

  • 1 hour on a flat, accessible trail in the Cayuga Lake area (30 minutes out, 30 minutes back)
  • A course of various lengths on some more technical trails—all running and hiking levels welcome
  • An FLRC Challenge group run to help participants tick off courses with company
  • A race course preview a few weeks before the event
  • A member-hosted run on a course of the host’s choosing

First off, keep us in mind when making your weekend running plans! We’re committing to putting on a race or hosting a group run every weekend in 2024, and we invite you to run with us!

Second, we need your help with the last two bullet points above. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to volunteer as a group run host. In our volunteer tool, Helper Helper, you will find opportunities to sign up. Once you do, I will reach out to you with more details.

A few things to note for potential group run hosts:

  • There may be some flexibility in the day (Saturday or Sunday).
  • The time of day in the opportunities is just a placeholder, in case you’d rather organize a mid-day or evening run.
  • If you’re interested in hosting a mid-week run, we can help make that happen too!

Don’t be nervous about being a host! The role is simple. We ask that you greet participants, encourage everyone to introduce themselves, take a picture for later posting in the FLRC Forum announcement thread, and ensure everyone finishes the run safely. You do not need to bring snacks or water (though you’re welcome to), and we will make an announcement post on the forum for you. All you need to do is show up at the appointed time and place, preferably a few minutes early.

Here’s a list of upcoming group runs, and hyperlinked group runs will take you to the opportunity to sign up as its host. See you on the weekend!

Day Date Event
Sunday 5/19/2024 Race - Thom B. Trail Runs
Sunday 5/26/2024 FLRC Challenge - Duck Trails
Saturday 6/1/2024 FLRC Challenge - Lindsay-Parsons
Sunday 6/9/2024 FLRC Challenge - Valley Views
Sat OR Sun 6/15 OR 6/16 Race Preview - Tortoise & Hare Trail Race
Sunday 6/23/2024 FLRC Challenge - Hammond Hill Hoctathon
Saturday 6/29/2024 Race - Finger Lakes 50s
Sunday 7/7/2024 Race - Tortoise & Hare Trail Race
Saturday 7/13/2024 Race - Fillmore 5K
Sunday 7/14/2024 FLRC Challenge - Treman Trailipop
Saturday 7/20/2024 Race - Trackaplooza
Sunday 7/21/2024 Race Preview - Forest Frolic
Sunday 7/28/2024 Race - Forest Frolic
Sat OR Sun 8/3 OR 8/4 Race Preview - Forge the Gorge
Sunday 8/11/2024 FLRC Challenge - Run Rabbit Run
Sat OR Sun 8/17 OR 8/18 Race Preview - Monster Marathon
Saturday 8/24/2024 FLRC Challenge - Freeville Fly-In
Sunday 9/1/2024 Race - Monster Marathon
Monday 9/2/2024 FLRC Challenge - Challenge Closer
Sunday 9/8/2024 Race - Ithaca 5&10
Saturday 9/14/2024 Group Run - Trail
Sat OR Sun 9/21 OR 9/22 Member-Hosted
Saturday 9/28/2024 Race - Parallel of Latitude Endurance Race
Sat OR Sun 10/5 OR 10/6 Race Preview - Danby Down & Dirty
Saturday 10/12/2024 Race - Danby Down & Dirty
Sunday 10/20/2024 Group Run - Rail Trail/Flat
Saturday 10/26/2024 Halloween Group Run
Sat OR Sun 11/2 OR 11/3 Member-Hosted
Sat OR Sun 11/9 OR 11/10 Member-Hosted
Sat OR Sun 11/16 OR 11/17 Race Preview - Turkey Trot
Saturday 11/23/2024 Group Run - Trail
Sat OR Sun 12/7 OR 12/8 Member-Hosted
Saturday 12/14/2024 Ugly Holiday Sweater Group Run (Black Diamond Trail)
Sat OR Sun 12/21 OR 12/22 Member-Hosted
Sat OR Sun 12/28 OR 12/29 Member-Hosted

image

7 Likes